10-27-2015 Special School Board Meeting
Agenda Item #13

Florida Power Library School Award


Present the state's Florida Power Library School award to the 2015-2018 winners.  This three year state designation provides recognition for schools demonstrating outstanding library media programs.  Schools awarded follow a similar renewal process every three years to retain the award.  The award references a state rubric reflecting best practices in the field and requires schools to meet the rigorous levels of the rubric in the areas of collaborative instruction, curriculum support, resource management, program administration, learning environment, and professional leadership.  Schools awarded and renewed this year are:

New Schools Awarded in Brevard:

Edgewood Jr/Sr High

  • Librarian:  Eryn Worcester
  • Principal:  Dr. Ken Winn

Meadowlane Primary School

  • Librarian:  Connie Benavidez
  • Principal:  Susan Schroeder

Quest Elementary School

  • Librarian:  Lori Kessel
  • Principal:  Elia Lea

Stone Magnet Middle School

  • Librarian:  Dr. Dawn Bronstein
  • Principal:  Misty Bland

Renewal School Awarded in Brevard

Apollo Elementary School

  • Librarian:  Missy Slack
  • Principal:  Frank O'Leary

Audubon Elementary School

  • Librarian:  Kathy Crisafulli
  • Principal:  Dr. Lisa Paniale

Herbert-Hoover Middle School

  • Librarian:  Ana Woodbrey
  • Principal:  Lena Wiebelt

McNair Magnet Middle School

  • Librarian:  Julie Wales
  • Principal:  Rosette Brown

Ralph Williams Elementary School

  • Librarian:  Joye Kralovec
  • Principal:  Chris Reed

Turner Elementary School

  • Librarian:  Sharon Justin
  • Principal:  Tanya Knowles

Viera High School

  • Librarian:  Beth Harris
  • Principal:  Mike Alba





Recognize the media specialist, and principals from the eleven schools who are recipients of the 2015-2018 Florida Power Library Award.

Meeting Date(s)
Resolution / Presentation - 10/27/2015

Authority for Action
F.S. 1001.42

Involves Expenditure of Funds Directly in the Classroom

Source of Funding
Agenda Item will not Require the Expenditure of Funds

Cost Center


Cyndi Van Meter (Associate Superintendent Division of Curriculum and Instruction)-x300

Lynn Spadaccini (Director Office of Elementary Programs)-x330

Gina Clark (K-12 Library Media Resource Teacher)-x337


Attachment:  2015 FPLS Board Meet Oct 27 PPP.pdf